Slow subscriber causing solace spool quota blow up

Rajesh
Rajesh Unconfirmed, Member Posts: 4

Hi Solace experts - I am new to solace world and getting to know things. We have solace set up in our application platform and it has been running fine for few weeks. As client applications are increased, we see some slow subscribers in solAdmin tool. The delivery mode set up is "DIRECT" and the client apps subscribe to topics like t/env/loc/app/pub and t/env/loc/app/ssn.
In an ideal scenario when client application is closed, the client app is unsubscribing for all the subscribed topics and the connections from that client disappear in the SolAdmin, all good in this case. However, in some machines, we see slow subscriber i.e. when the app is set to auto shutdown at night say (11:00 p.m.), not all client apps could close gracefully.. one of the client apps are appearing under "slow subscribers" column in SolAdmin tool.
This further caused the message queue build up overnight and exceeded the spool quota causing much bigger problem the next morning to other consumer clients who couldn't consume data from solace. Everything had to be restarted later to get to normal.
I'm sure that not all client apps can be expected to gracefully unsubscribe and close connections.
so Could you please tell me how to handle such clients who are not able to consume messages for whatever reason and how can I save the solace from building up the queue and exceeding the spool quota? Ideally, I would like to identify such slow consumers and disconnect them from the topic channel in solace itself (better if it can be automatically disconnected by solace) and not queue up the messages for them to avoid spool quota blow up. sorry for a long description, but please advise...

Thanks,
Rajesh

Tagged:

Comments

• TomF
    TomF Member, Employee Posts: 406 Solace Employee

Hi @Rajesh, welcome to the wonderful world of Solace!