Moving messages from deadletter queue to main queue in Solace

Poornima
Poornima Member Posts: 25
edited December 2020 in General Discussions #1

I am new to Solace and using Boomi to push messages to Solace. I tried JMS Toolbox to view the messages. Do we have any tools or any options to move the messages from the Dead Letter queue to Main queue. I am looking for any of the options available. Can you please guide me in right direction please.

Tagged:

Comments

• sjaak
    sjaak Member Posts: 103 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2020 #2

We use Boomi and Solace as well. That's a good question.

• We have built Boomi processes to do that. So, get messages from DMQ and send them back into the original queue. The risk here is that, with Boomi, a GET does not support guaranteed delivery. This means that, if the Boomi process fails, you will lose your messages.
    • As far as I know, JMS toolbox does not support moving messages. You can copy messages from the DMQ to the original queue. But you then need to remove them as well. This is OK for a few messages, but not for big numbers.

It's a pity that the Solace UI doesn't support this, because you always need a separate tool to manage queues. And JMS Toolbox isn't the sexiest tool out there. Customers don't like the UI of JMS Toolbox.

IMO, it would be great if the Solace Cloud UI would support his. Just a simple move messages function would do the trick here. As well as an option to view payloads! :smile:

• marc
    marc Member, Administrator, Moderator, Employee Posts: 914 admin

Hi @sjaak ,
    I agree that JMSToolbox isn't the sexiest of tools for sure! And thanks for the excellent feedback that you would like to see this within the UI.

@Poornima,