Solace Developer Spotlight: Heiko Henning

hong
hong Guest Posts: 480 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hometown: Thun, Switzerland

Years of being a developer: 18 years as a professional developer

Primary programming language(s): Java, Typescript

How did you start as a developer?

I started as a classical web developer and turned more and more to enterprise software.

What is your typical day like?

As a messaging architect, I review concepts of developer teams and give best practices for the dev team's problems. I also provide solutions to common problems.

What is your favorite thing about being a developer?

Having the opportunity to look into several business domains and helping to understand the problem and find the solutions.

What project are you currently working on?

I'm setting up a messaging network based on a micro broker architecture for an advanced micro service landscape.

What new skills or technologies are you learning?

Last year I had a closer look at Golang and real-time big data processing.

What cool tech trends are you seeing?

In general, I try to avoid following hypes. But I am happy to see technologies like Kubernetes, Spring, Angular have made the steps to be stable enterprise ready software and hope those will survive for a while.

What advice do you have for other developers?

Think big, act small.

If you could retire now, what would you do?

Provided my children are already leaving the house, I would buy a small RV and grab my wife and see the world.

If you were a Solace Developer Community admin for one day, what would you do?

Try to make AsyncAPI a little more public.

What is your Solace wish?

Don't grow too fast. Keep your customer needs oriented team.

Read more:

Comments

• marc
    marc Member, Administrator, Moderator, Employee Posts: 914 admin

Thanks for sharing @GreenRover! Exciting to learn a bit more about you!

Last year I had a closer look at Golang and real-time big data processing.