Solace Spring JMSListner

Team, I am new to the Solace and i am currently using in the Solace SpringBoot JMS.

I have created a Queue and Published 500 Message to it. I want to implement a Multithreading behavior to my consumer which will consume the message parallelly and process instead of one by one.

I have added the minimum concurrency as 5 and maximum 10. When i start the application , i can see 5 consumers are in active but only one consumer is processing all the Messages. I want to know how we can use all the consumers and process the messages parlelly.

Sample Code:

@JmsListener(destination = "Q/tab/Consumer/test", concurrency = "5-10" )
    public void handle(Message message) {

counter = counter+1;
        Date receiveTime = new Date();
        System.out.println(
                "Consumer Process started at Received at " + new SimpleDateFormat("yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS").format(receiveTime));
        if (message instanceof TextMessage) {
            TextMessage tm = (TextMessage) message;
            try {

tm.getText();

System.out.println(Thread.currentThread().getId());
                System.out.println("Processed ----" + counter + " so far" );

} catch (JMSException e) {
                e.printStackTrace();
            }
        } else {
            System.out.println(message.toString());
        }
    }

Tagged:

Comments

• marc
    marc Member, Administrator, Moderator, Employee Posts: 914 admin

Hi @bsudabathula,

Welcome to the Solace Community!
    Can you check your queue access type under Settings?
    You'd want to use a "non-exclusive" queue to spread the load across multiple consumers. Exclusive would deliver all the messages to the first consumer to connect and treat the others as secondary, tertiary, etc.

Hope that helps!

• bsudabathula
    bsudabathula Member Posts: 11
    edited September 2021 #3

@marc Thanks for your quick response. Is it possible to implement a concurrency(5 Threads running parallelly) with a single consumer?