Sending Ack with multiple flows

@Ragnar as per the conversion here is fresh discussion.

Hello, I am new to solace and I have a question about having multiple flows.

Consider the following situation:

A consumer is consuming messages from 2 queues. Then the consumer will create 2 flows.

Here the consumer is not just consuming the messages, it also stores/processes the messages. And it would be ideal to send acknowledgement only when the consumer successfully stores/processes the message.

Now that you have a consumer, consuming from multiple queues then you need to know the flow instance at the time of sending an acknowledgement.

How to get flow instances? Or at least know which flow is used when the message was consumed? 

I am using .NET library 10.17.0

Thanks

Comments

• Ragnar
    Ragnar Member, Employee Posts: 64 Solace Employee

Thanks for posting this question.

It is necessary for the application to track which messages belong to which flows when consuming from multiple flows on a non-transacted session. The most straightforward way to accomplish this is to create your own application object that contains both an IMessage reference and an IFlow reference.

When processing a received message in your messageEvent callback, instantiate your AppMessage object and save both the IFlow and IMessage there. In your app you would pass around and generally use AppMessage(), and when your ready to acknowledge, the IFlow reference you've saved can be used.

This would be the solution for non-transacted sessions.