Differences between (RPC and PubSub) RabbitMQ and Solace

Options
Stromgald
Stromgald Member Posts: 1

Hi , i'm a newbie of Solace. I used for years RabbitMq and i would change for Solace. I'm reading documentation but i still didnt userstand the difference between Direct, RPC and pubsub.

In Rabbitmq i have someone that publish on a certain queue a message and subscriber (registered on rabbit) of that certain queue receive e message. Those message could be decorated with a Topic so only subscriber on certain queue on certain topic should receive message. (Exchange.Queue) EcommerceX.OrderDirectory.OrederSent#topic)

And then RPC message. I sent a request and a responder (subscriber binding on a certain RPC queue) give me response.

On solace instead seems that the concept of topic is different.

On rabbit i can see the subscriber (RPC) on managment interface. Can i do the same on solace?

I made an tutorial example (that works) but i dont find any panel where i can see those.

Another question , can i use REST Pattern on Reply/Response instead of Solace API client ?

Thank you

Comments

• himanshu
    himanshu Member, Employee Posts: 67 Solace Employee
    Options

Hi @Stromgald ,

I am no expert on rabbitMQ but there are several differences between Solace PubSub+ and rabbitMQ.

RabbitMQ uses AMQP 0.9 wireline protocol whereas PubSub+ supports multiple protocols which makes it easier to leverage PubSub+ for a wide range of usecases from backend high-throughput usecases to front-end usecases to IoT usecases. PubSub+ supports AMQP, MQTT, REST, JMS, and WebSockets natively without any need for proxies. This means you can have multiple IoT devices publishing data via MQTT to PubSub+ and a backend Java process using JMS to subscribe to this data for processing along with a frontend Javascript application using WebSockets to stream this data on web app.