C# consumer flow dispose

Options
shaunvdberg
shaunvdberg Member Posts: 14 ✭✭

Hi

I'm new to Solace + this is my first post, so be gentle :D

I'm building a worker (C#) that consumes messages off a Solace Queue using the SolClient messaging API.

On application shutdown, I attempt to stop & dispose the flow. See code below:

_flow = session.CreateFlow(flowProperties, queue, null, HandleMessageEvent, HandleFlowEvent);
_logger.LogInformation("Subscribed to queue {MessageQueue}", Q);

do
{
    _waitEventWaitHandle.WaitOne();
} while (!stoppingToken.IsCancellationRequested && !_isSessionDown);

_flow.Stop();

var sw = Stopwatch.StartNew();

_flow.Dispose();

_logger.LogInformation("Flow disposed in {Milliseconds}ms.", sw.ElapsedMilliseconds);

The result - Dispose takes a while to complete.

Note: Above flow window size is set to default (255). When I adjust the window size, making it smaller, the dispose seems to complete quicker.

Any idea what might cause the dispose to take so long?

Thanks

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Ragnar
    Ragnar Member, Employee Posts: 64 Solace Employee
    #2 Answer ✓
    Options

Hi Shaun,

You are correct, that is almost assuredly what is happening. Your message handler sets the event on the very first message. However if it takes so long to process that message, there may be up to 10000 bytes buffered (messages 2-255 depending on message size) that will be processed before our internal 'context' thread will look for the dispose event and process that. In fact, as the kernel scheduling of events on file descriptors (the native API uses poll) is indeterminate, there many be several reads of 10000 bytes performed before the dispose is handled.

This will serve to make it unpredictable how many messages are processed before dispose() closes the flow.