Receive the latest message only for both direct message and persistent message - python

Options
BrianChan
BrianChan Member Posts: 18

Hi all, recently I am engaging a project that require data streaming. Therefore, even though there is a latency in processing the message, I would like the consumer always take the latest message.

I am a python developer and would be grateful if someone can tell be how to achieve the above requirement for both direct message and persistent message cases. Thanks a lot!

Tagged:

Answers

• Aaron
    Aaron Member, Administrator, Moderator, Employee Posts: 527 admin
    edited April 2022 #2
    Options

Hi @BrianChan . This is not something easily achievable normally. Simply because in a distributed system, it takes time for the message to get from the broker to the application. Inside the broker there is a outbound buffer for your client, then there is a TCP socket buffer, then there is the data on the wire, then another TCP socket buffer in your application computer, then into the API and dispatched to the application. When you mean "latest message", is that the very latest at the broker? How could that be achieved? And would this be per-topic? What if you're receiving a whole bunch of different topics interleaved... there's no way to know until your application receives it which is the "latest one".