Some useful Replay patterns

Options
himanshu
himanshu Member, Employee Posts: 67 Solace Employee
edited July 2021 in Blogs & Tutorials #1

Hi all,

As some of you might know already, I am a Solutions Architect at Solace working with our clients and helping them understand and design features based on Solace's PubSub+ Platform. In the last few years, we have released several new features which our clients have been keen on taking advantage of for their custom usecases. One of the most popular new features is Replay.

Message Replay, as the name suggests, allows you to replay messages hours or even days after those messages were first received by the event broker. Without Replay, once a particular message has been consumed by all the consumers, it would be deleted from the underlying message spool. However, with Replay enabled, the message is stored in replay log and the underlying spool even after all the consumers have consumed the message.

Replay functionality helps protect applications by giving them the ability to correct database issues they might have arising from events such as misconfiguration, application crashes, or corruption, by redelivering data to the applications. You can read more about these usecases here.

Currently, Message Replay can be initiated on a queue in the following ways:
1. Start of the Replay Log
2. From a specific date/time to now
3. After a specific message (specified by replication group message id (RGMI) ) to now

What happens when Replay is initiated?

When you initiate Replay on a queue, any existing enqueued messages are removed and older messages are replayed to that queue. Once all the older messages have been replayed and consumed, the consumer automatically starts consuming the live stream of messages. This relieves the consumer from the burden of monitoring the older messages, disconnecting, reconnecting, and then consuming the live stream of messages. With Solace's Message Replay feature, all of this is automated!