Solace Developer Spotlight: Dunith Dhanushka

Options
hong
hong Guest Posts: 480 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hometown: Galle, Sri Lanka (2 hours of driving from Colombo, the capital.)

Years of being a developer: 12

Primary programming language(s): Java and Python

How did you start as a developer?

I started my programming career back in 2005 with Visual Basic 6. I was playing around with the GUI-based applications first. Then I found web development was interesting. That turned me into a PHP developer. Back in the day, I learned PHP by reading a lot of ebooks and following along with examples. Meanwhile, I worked as a PHP developer while I was studying at the university. Then I started learning Java as I was interested in learning about distributed systems. I learned a lot while contributing to open source projects and following up on certain big data technologies like Hadoop and Hive.

What is your typical day like?

Currently, I work as a developer advocate at StarTree. As my work is fully remote, I have a lot of flexibility to manage my tasks in a day. I’m a morning person, so I usually write for like 2 to 3 hours in the morning. Then I do research and learn about new technologies during the rest of the day. In the evening, I have an overlap with my colleagues in the United States so that we can collaborate, join calls, and focus on developer community-related activities.

What is your favorite thing about being a developer?

As a developer, it is very easy to try out new things in the field. All you need is a computer and the Internet connection. The craftsman and the toolset are tightly knitted.

What project are you currently working on?

Reading some research papers about column-oriented databases. I’m planning to write an article series about that soon. Also, I'm trying to refine a developer workflow to develop async APIs.

What new skills or technologies are you learning?

Python for data visualization, distributed database fundamentals, and advanced SQL for data analysis.