NodeJS troubleshooting help

Aaron
Aaron Member, Administrator, Moderator, Employee Posts: 508 admin

Hi all,

I'm not very good at JavaScript coding. I spent some time on the weekend coding up a simple app that does REST polling every minute (gathering arrival times from a bus stop, via an open API), and publishing the values via MQTT onto Solace broker using MQTT.js.

Now... I've been running the program using nohup node test.js > output.txt 2>&1 & and after several hours it just terminates. No error messages or anything in the output.txt log file (I have both stdout and stderr redirecting). And I have an error hander on the client object, so I don't think it's an MQTT error. So I have no idea why it's just terminating? Is there some NodeJS debugging things I can do, to see why it terminated unexpectedly?? Thanks!!

Comments

• amackenzie
    amackenzie Member, Employee Posts: 260 Solace Employee

Is there a way out of your loop that doesn't create an error condition? Maybe it's just hitting that? With Javascript, it almost always is about async race conditions.

• giri
    giri Member, Administrator, Employee Posts: 103 admin

Node may have crashed due to unhandled rejections (a possibility!). If you can instrument your code with a handler, at least you might know why it crashed (if at all). Refer to https://blog.heroku.com/best-practices-nodejs-errors for more details.

• Tamimi
    Tamimi Member, Administrator, Employee Posts: 491 admin
    edited May 2021 #4

Curious to know, are you using setinterval() for your repeated REST request? You can perhaps make it simpler

async function getArrivalTime() {
      // do your REST fetch here. You can use whatever library so for example I am using fetch from node-fetch here 
      const baseURL = `API`;
      let res = await fetch(baseURL).catch((err) => {
        throw new Error(`Error fetching content from ${baseURL}. ${err}`);
      });

if (!res.ok) {